Ash-Tree Press
P.O. Box 1360, Ashcroft, British Columbia, Canada V0K 1A0
Tel: (250) 453-2045; Fax: (250) 453-2075


by A. M. Burrage
edited, with an Introduction
by Jack Adrian

ISBN: 1-899562-04-4; xiv + 237pp
Published 1 August 1995 in an edition of 500 copies.

During the first four decades of this century, Alfred McLelland Burrage (1889–1956) was one of the most prolific British writers of short popular fiction. There was scarcely a mainstream weekly, fortnightly, or monthly whose Contents page did not, at one time or another, feature his name.

His speciality was the light-hearted love story, but his fame today rests on his tales of the supernatural. His talent in this direction was recognised by both Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and M.R. James.

Intruders is the first in a four-book set collecting together the bulk of Burrage's supernatural fiction. Of the twenty-six stories in this volume, only three have been published in bookform before.

Contents: Introduction; 'Wine of Summer'; 'The Bargain'; 'Portrait of an Unknown Lady'; 'Top Floor Back'; '"Orders from Brigade"'; 'The Intruder'; 'By the Looe River'; 'The man on the Corner'; 'The Pace Maker'; 'Footprints'; 'The Spanish Captain'; 'Passenger on the Eleven-Ten'; 'In the Waters under the Earth'; 'The Lady of Graeme'; 'The Box in the Attic'; 'The Caricature'; 'The Sisters of Changton Margery'; 'The Breaking of the Spell'; 'The Lovers'; 'House o' Dreams'; 'The Chalk Pit'; 'The Lady of the Chateau'; 'Miss Jessica'; 'The Last of the Kerstons'; 'Corner Cottage'; 'Fellow Mortals'.

Return to Out of Print Titles Main Page

Ash-Tree Press 2003