Ash-Tree Press
P.O. Box 1360, Ashcroft, British Columbia, Canada V0K 1A0
Tel: (250) 453-2045; Fax: (250) 453-2075



by Lawrence C. Connolly

ISBN: 978-1-55310-117-8; iv+195pp

Limited to 400 copies

Jacket art by Jason Zerrillo

PRICE: Cnd$49.00 / US$49.00 / £29.00




LAWRENCE C. CONNOLLY (b. 1951) has been writing since the early 1980s, with stories appearing in some of the genre's top magazines and anthologies, among them Cemetery Dance, Twilight Zone, Fantasy & Science Fiction, and Year's Best Horror Stories.

This Way to Egress offers eighteen of his best horror, ghost, and mystery stories set in locations as diverse as rural Pennsylvania, central Italy, and Soviet Russia.

Along the way you will encounter worlds of fluid reality where nothing can be trusted, a lacquer box that serves as a holding cell for over 400 persecuted souls, and a young man who makes an alarming discovery about the connection between modern photography and timeless evil.

This collection also features 'Reckoning', an all-new story set in a backwoods church in a deep Pennsylvania valley—a place where a callous killer learns the meaning of fear.

Also new to this collection is the retrospective essay 'Ingress', featuring a look back at Connolly's three decades of writing and publishing ranging from early collections of his work with T. E. D. Klein (Twilight Zone) and Karl Edward Wagner (Year's Best Horror) up to his recent association with filmmakers Charly Cantor (Blood) and David Slade (Thirty Days of Night).

Lawrence C. Connolly's novel Veins was a Black Quill Award finalist for 2008. He follows it this year with This Way to Egress, the first collection of his best and best-known horror stories from the genre's top magazines and anthologies.

CONTENTS: Ingress; This Way to Egress; Circle of Lias; Painkeeper; Moon and the Devil; Smuggling the Dead; Flames; Lesions; The Break-in Artist; Wired for Fear; Reckoning; Striking Terror; The Soothsayer; Shooting Evil; Hungry Ann; Things; Decanting Oblivion; Buckeye and Spitball; Mrs Halfbooger's Basement; Echoes.


© Ash-Tree Press 2010